What Makes Me Me | Part 2

Age 4 – 7 
We moved to South Carolina, where dad attended graduate school. I don’t remember much about SC except for the long, windy drive from daycare to home, begin forced to eat peas by an after school teacher, and my neighbor’s awesome kitchen set that we played with frequently. 

Like many children, I met a bully on the playground during Kindergarten. She was very mean to me and I came home crying. My mother imparted this lesson on my young soul. She said, “If someone is mean to you, they don’t deserve your friendship. And if someone is not your friend, there is no need to care about what they think.”

Words to live by. 

Leave a Reply

