Mabon, Michaelmas, and Transitions of Courage

Though I am a bit late, I want to wish you all a very Merry Mabon!! 

an October morning

What a wonderful summer it has been! Full of heat, garden fruits, campfires and activity. Sometime near the Summer Solstice, I made a very important decision: to follow this path of becoming a Waldorf teacher. Only two days before the Autumn Equinox, I made another important decision: a commitment to marry my greatest love. He asked me on our one and half year anniversary of our first date. We sat quietly beside a river while eating bread and Brie, sheltered from the coming rain by umbrella-like tree limbs. Just us. Together. In nature.

It was perfect.

So begins the transition into married life. 

I’ve realized there is even a transition into the promise to commit to married life, an engagement. Just yesterday, a classmate corrected me when I refered to my fiancĂ© as my “boyfriend.” It takes time to adapt to new labels. 

Vintage c. 1900
Closely following the Equinox on Sepetember 29th, is the Christian/Pagan holiday called Michaelmas. Michaelmas is a time to celebrate the harvest, the transition into autumn, and preparation for drawing inward. It marks the halfway point of the Soul Calendar year (which begins on Easter). I had the honor of reading aloud Steiner’s Michaelmas poem from The Calendar of the Soul. Poetry inspired by the meditations and drawings of his colleague (whom I will research and update in this blog entry), and translated from the original German by Ruth & Hans Pusch.

O Nature, your maternal life
I bear within the essence of my will. 
And my will’s fiery energy
Shall steel my spirit striving.
That sense of self springs forth from it
To hold me in myself.

I especially like this poem as it emphasizes the COURAGE needed to move forward and the STRENGTH needed to remember the Self. As is with marriage. 

I could not have foreseen a better time to make this wonderous, meaningful transition together. 

Best seat on the train
Leave a Reply

